Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Welcome to our site

Take a moment to join our board

Sign in to follow this  
Zen

[Question] C++ socket/GUI libraries recommendations

Hi guys,

In order to start a PoC of my Conquer Man In The Middle program, I'm looking for some C++ libraries to use. The library/ies should be able to handle at least networking and GUI management.

I've had some experiences with the SFML library that included modules for both of my needs, but I'd be interested in testing new things.
I think that a majority of you are C# or Go programmers (from what I read), but maybe you've got insights from your experience or your friends.

What would you recommend? I've read a lot from the Internet, and found many resources here and there. My motto is "the lighter the better", as I am not looking for great performance as of now. Cross platform would be neat.

Thanks guys!

EDIT : by the way, if you think of another aspect that would require the use of a library like threads, please let me know! :)

Edited by Zen

Happy to see another person interested in C++

for networking I prefer to use boost.asio I like the way they handle asynchronous sockets and they are up to date and use newer c++ features , I'd say use boost generally since they have a lot of different libraries that can go along way helping you develop with c++ , it's also very well documented.

as for GUI I can't really suggest a library since I use winapi when I rarely need to do UI work but I would say Qt is one of the better options.

Good luck with your coding adventures.

• Thanks 1

Hello @Diab,

nice to meet you here, and thank you for your reply.

I was about to consider boost.asio for the networking part as I've read lots of good from this library, so it's nice to have further recommendations for it here.