• More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Welcome to our site

Take a moment to join our board

Sign in to follow this  
Spirited

UI Framework Discussion for Map Editor

Hi all. A few years ago, I did the research around converting maps for Conquer Online into plain text file systems that can be easily modified by a visual client editor or simple text editor. I started a command-line version of "Architect" to convert maps, but I'm a bit confused about the direction of the project. Overall, I'd really like to get more experience with client-side application development. Keeping Architect as just a command line tool doesn't really get me more experience in anything, nor is it great for the usability of the tool.

The problem is, I'm not very experienced in what frameworks are used these days for cross-platform development. I'm thinking about using Angular and Typescript with Electron. That way, I can use a nice UI Framework with WebGL for the visual editor (if I get around to that). Otherwise, just allowing the window to do text editing for now. Again, I'm not very experienced with this, so I'd really appreciate the community's feedback. Thanks!

I honestly would not bother if you with making a text editor. I would start the projects with the intention of making a visual editor. However, if you wanted to have a text editor I would just make a VS Code plugin that can interact with the CLI and possibly do validation/linting.

18 hours ago, Spirited said:

Angular and Typescript with Electron

I have used this in the past to make enterprise applications. One plus side is that you can have very rapid development and easy deployment. That being said, I have never attempted something similar to this. I would image a visual map editor would be rather difficult in a web framework, as it does not quite fit the standard model. I maybe would investigate Qt. 

2 hours ago, Smallxmac said: